Ange

Ange is the result of discutions between two artists and a “hikikomori”. This term imported from Japan, which has no equivalent in France, is used to describe young people, sometimes even teenagers, choosing not to leave their room or their apartment for months or even years. Ael is one of them, recluse in a shed in his parents garden for 13 years, somewhere in the south of France.

The artistic duo fleuryfontaine has maintained a relationship with him using internet. They used the video game as a medium to try to reconstruct the world of this hikikomori and to engage a dialogue during game sessions where Ael evolves in the environments created by the artist. His room, his objects, the parental home, his neighborhood, this film reveals the fragmented portrait of a man hiding from the world.

 

Ange_fleuryfontaine Ange_fleuryfontaineAnge_fleuryfontaine

Ange_fleuryfontaine

Special thanks :

Ael, Frédéric Weigel et Yoshiko Suto (le Palais des paris, Takasaki, Japon), Camille (Nøsca), Maïa Fansten, Cristina Figueiredo, Natacha Vellut, Constantin Dubois Choulik, Pauline Descamps, Liyo Gong.

Produce by Le Fresnoy – Studio national des arts contemporains

Ange

Ange est le produit des échanges entre deux artistes et un « hikikomori ». Ce terme importé du Japon qui n’a pas vraiment d’égal en France, est utilisé pour désigner de jeunes personnes, parfois même adolescentes, choisissant de ne pas sortir de leur chambre ou de leur appartement et ce pour une durée pouvant aller de plusieurs mois à plusieurs années. C’est le cas de Ael, reclus dans une cabane dans le jardin de la maison familiale depuis 13 ans, quelque part dans le sud de la France.

Le duo d’artistes fleuryfontaine a entretenu avec lui une relation via internet, et a utilisé le médium du jeu vidéo pour tenter de reconstituer l’univers de ce hikikomori et engager un dialogue lors de séances de jeu où Ael évolue dans les environnements créés par ses deux interlocuteurs. Sa chambre, les objets qui la composent, la maison parentale, son quartier, ce film dévoile le portrait fragmenté d’un homme en retrait du monde.

Ange_fleuryfontaineAnge_fleuryfontaine

Ange_fleuryfontaine Ange_fleuryfontaine

Remerciements :

Ael, Frédéric Weigel et Yoshiko Suto (le Palais des paris, Takasaki, Japon), Camille (Nøsca), Maïa Fansten, Cristina Figueiredo, Natacha Vellut, Constantin Dubois Choulik, Pauline Descamps, Liyo Gong.

Une production Le Fresnoy – Studio national des arts contemporains